RTCM Site Search

Discussion for anything RTCM
User avatar
Corvin
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 1:10 pm
Location: R.T.C.M.
Contact:

RTCM Site Search

Postby Corvin » Sat Jun 30, 2018 7:33 am

I added a site search to RTCM.

http://www.r-t-c-m.com/site-help.html

If you know how to make it work better or have tips for me please let me know.
-=CHE@TER=-
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 11:54 am

Re: RTCM Site Search

Postby -=CHE@TER=- » Sat Jun 30, 2018 9:46 am

Few things that I can suggest.
Why you use DuckDuckGo instead of Google? It's little known search engine and when I see "In partnership with Yandex" it was a big "no" for me. Don't use Yandex or any it's services. Trust me, it's not even worth to try. But it's my personal opinion, so I don't want to force you to change it. But this search engine didn't work without JavaScript. Here is a code from my site to use Google.com (I change it for you) - you can try to test it if you want, works even without JavaScript enabled:

Code: Select all

<center>Site search<br>
<form target="_blank" method="get" action="http://www.google.com/search">
<input type="text" size="70" maxlength="300" value="" name="q">
<input type="hidden" value="www.r-t-c-m.com" name="as_sitesearch">
<input type="submit" value="Find">
<br>Powered by <a target="_blank" href="http://www.google.com/" class="navlink">Google</a>
</form>
</center>

"form" and "input" tags are mandatory and you can remove or change anything else as you want.
Last edited by -=CHE@TER=- on Sun Jul 01, 2018 5:14 pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
Corvin
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 1:10 pm
Location: R.T.C.M.
Contact:

Re: RTCM Site Search

Postby Corvin » Sat Jun 30, 2018 6:08 pm

Thanks.

I'll have to look up out to get it to work properly as it doesn't like displaying results in a frame.
I have to get it to open in a new window/tab to display the results.

Short on time right now, but ill get back to it.

Thanks again.
-=CHE@TER=-
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 11:54 am

Re: RTCM Site Search

Postby -=CHE@TER=- » Sat Jun 30, 2018 7:02 pm

Corvin wrote:I'll have to look up out to get it to work properly as it doesn't like displaying results in a frame.
I have to get it to open in a new window/tab to display the results.
Sorry. I edit my last post and add target="_blank" to open search result in a new window.

Edit: Updated code again to make it look more neat (increased field size, reaarranged text, centered, etc.).
User avatar
Corvin
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 1:10 pm
Location: R.T.C.M.
Contact:

Re: RTCM Site Search

Postby Corvin » Mon Jul 02, 2018 4:01 am

Okay -=CHE@TER=- !. I appreciate you doing this. Saves me some effort and time.

I'll apply your fixes soon.

Return to “Site Help and Feedback”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests